First Canter since bad spill last year!

Handsome face.  Might now win any shows for beauty according to someone else but I think he is the most handsome.

Handsome face. Might now win any shows for beauty according to someone else but I think he is the most handsome.

So I am sure others could have done it much quicker…like the following day.  Or week.  But Chief and I took our time.  After Chief making calm transitions from trot to canter on a long line I felt like it was time for us to take the next step and ride him into a canter! He picked up the correct left lead right of the bat.  We cantered just the long side of the arena and did a nice downward into a soft trot.  I instinctively grabbed my “horn” when I asked him out of precaution, but it didn’t effect my ask going to the left. When I asked him to pick up a right lead canter we didn’t get it correct the first two tries, and on the third try we got it.  Astrid told me to hold onto my reins, and to give him a little more outside rein, collect him into a nice trot before I asked. And we got it on the third try.

No freakouts.  He was very calm.  He was kind of dead last night, and our blacksmith said he seemed a little stiff.  So hopefully us working a little more frequently will limber him up.  I know how my muscles feel after I work hard for the first time in awhile, so cantering this week maybe has stiffened him up a bit.

Astrid told me I lean a little to the right when I ride, so to concentrate on staying centered when I ride.  To be conscious of it.

I was so happy and felt like we really accomplished something together.

20 Mins of groundwork (Calm)

35 Mins of riding (Calm)

Leave a Reply

